My Food Rules

Discovering the path the health by creating my own rules

Oven-Roasted Veggies

IMG_3544

I can take no credit for this recipe.  My mom started making it years ago and I have no idea where she got it.  But it is so delicious that it needs to be shared.

  • 10 unpeeled red potatoes, cut into 1 inch pieces
  • 1 cup baby carrots or two large carrots cut into 1-2 inch sticks
  • 1 onion, cut into wedges and separated into pieces
  • 1 red pepper, cut into large bit-sized pieces
  • ¼ cup olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced or pushed through a garlic press
  • 1 teaspoon dried rosemary or a few tablespoons fresh rosemary
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Combine oil, lemon juice, garlic, and rosemary.  Place all vegetables except the pepper into a 13×9 inch pan, drizzle dressing, toss to coat and add salt and pepper as desired.  Roast uncovered at 450 degrees for 30 minutes.  Add red pepper, toss vegetables to mix, and return to oven for 10-15 minutes or until potatoes are fully cooked.  Serve immediately.

Mix up the flavors of the dish by adding vegetables such as parsnips, rutabaga, zucchini, or snow peas.  Substitute oregano for the rosemary for a twist or add a sprinkle cayenne pepper for a little kick.

This is a great side dish for nearly any kind of meat.  Tonight I ate it with chicken koftas I purchased from my local market, but my favorite combination is with pork tenderloin and mustard sauce.  Yum!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Oven-Roasted Veggies

  1. Pingback: Weekly Weigh-In: April 23 | My Food Rules

  2. Looks delicious !

  3. myfoodrules on said:

    Thanks, Veena Mitra! It’s one of my favorites – I hope you like it!

Leave a comment